Street Photography – Cardiff Streets 4

Making a return to street photography on film today with another instalment in this series, armed with the trusty Olympus OM-1 and a roll of Fomapan Classic 100, all of these were taken with either a 50mm or 28mm lens.

First up is this shot of a girl, sat alone, headphone on, rolling a cigarette. I like her ridiculously colourful leggings, the way she is lost in her concentration, the slight reflection coming off the damp paving slabs and the contours of the brickwork, cracked, dirty, covered in old cement and repair upon repair. F5.6, 1/125th sec.Rolling 50mm Fomapan Classic 100 f5

Next is this gentleman who was handing out literature on Islam, I like his message, I’m by no means religious but I like this message, three religions boiled down into one sentence and fact; isn’t it supposed to be about being good to each other? The clock with the reflection of the trees above is nice as well. And I don’t know why but I like the “Old Guys Rule” sign in the background too, just makes me smile for some reason. F8, 1/125th sec.  Islam 50mm Fomapan Classic 100 f8 125th sec Last one is this shot of a man on his mobile phone, ahem, hard at work. Again I like the reflections on the damp paving slabs, faint but noticeable, and the repetition of the cones that have created a little safe zone for this guy, he almost looks like he’s scanning around watching out in case his boss turns up and catches him on his phone. F8, 1/250th sec.

Bollards 50mm Fomapan Classic 100 f8 250th sec

Leave a comment